Thursday, July 9, 2009

FGI Dallas Announces Winners of Career Day 2009!

Green is the New Black
Student designers learn being environmentally and socially
responsible is always in style.

(April 2009 Dallas, TX) Fashion Group International of Dallas held its 41st Career Day. Career Day is the longest running and largest fashion career event of its kind in the US. This year’s theme was The Pursuit of Glamour centered around the icons of fashion and the role fashion plays in the green movement.

Keynote speaker, Rene Geneva, opened by sharing her journey as a designer with the students and encouraged students to become aware of the social and ecological impact that fashion design has on the world and to take a more responsible role in the way clothes are designed, manufactured and distributed.

David Wolfe, Creative Director from The Doneger Group, New York gave the students a sneak peek into upcoming fashion and social trends. He stayed for the much anticipated fashion show where he presented awards to students. This year’s fashion show took “recycling the past” to a new level with garments made from soda can tops, plastic shopping bags and reclaimed fibers.

With over 1,100 students from 46 schools in 12 states and two continents participating, FGI is proud to announce winners from the 41st Annual Career Day Design Competition:

The Fashion Group Foundation, which is the fundraising arm of the Fashion Group International of Dallas, awarded prize money to students in the following categories:

FGI Garments


1st - Kourtney WIlliams, University of North Texas
2nd - Kristina Schakade, University of North Texas
3rd - Socorro Franco, El Centro

1st - Hannah Schmidt, Texas Woman's University
2nd - Sharon Clay, Texas Woman's University
3rd - Zoe Martinez, Baylor University

Theatre/Costume/Wearable Art
1st - Erin Bunge, Texas Tech University
2nd - Kelsie Mitchel, Oklahoma State University
3rd - Ksania Lerner, Houston Community College

1st - Frances Bushnell, Louisiana State University
2nd - Erin WIlliams, Louisiana State University
3rd - Hannah Schmidt, Texas Woman's University

FGI Best of Show Paris Scholarship
Hannah Schmidt, Texas Woman's University (Currently in Paris courtesy of FGI Dallas!)

Four-Legged Fashion awarded prize money to the top three students for their design creations of canine couture to be modeled at the Four-Legged Fashion fashion show in May.

1st - Mindy Oglesby, Oklahoma State University
2nd - Ginny Hornsby, The Art Institute of Dallas
3rd - Abigail George, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) and Texas Food & Fiber Commission (TFFC) are long time supporters of FGI Career Day that awarded prize money to Trend Board and Garment design winners in the cotton, wool, and mohair categories.

TDA Trend Board


1st - Jovita Lektzian, Texas Tech University
2nd - Audrey Russell, Harding University
3rd - Courtney Lantrip, Texas Woman's University


1st - Charlotte Moreland, Texas Tech University
2nd - Jessica Shropshire, University of Central Oklahoma
3rd - Angela Sepulveda, University of the Incarnate Word


1st – Laci Colette Weikert, Texas Tech University
2nd - Autumn Hicks, Texas Woman's University
3rd - Alexandreia Smart, Stephen F. Austin State University

TDA Garments


1st – Emily Mackinnon, University of North Texas
2nd - Stephanie Montes, University of North Texas
3rd - Melissa Bergemann, University of North Texas


1st – Sara Hoffman, University of North Texas
2nd - Stephanie Montes, University of North Texas
3rd - Monir Sadeyhaini, Texas Woman's University


1st - Monica Gaytan, Texas Woman's University
2nd - Christina Jackson, Texas Tech University
3rd - Georgia Wilson, Delta State University


Emily MacKinnon, University of North Texas

TDA/Janome Sewing Machine

Corey Payne
, Baylor University

TDA Paris Scholarship

Stephanie Montes, University of North Texas (Currently in Paris courtesy of TDA!)

Design Industries Foundation Fighting Aids (DIFFA) awarded prize money to top three students for their design creations of denim jackets to be auctioned at future DIFFA events.

1st - Brooke Burch, University of Wisconsin - Stout
2nd - Kathy Moseley, Texas Woman's University
3rd - Allie Nielsen, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

DAVACO, Inc., a national provider of retail services, awarded prize money to the top three students for their garment designs.

1st place - Lindsey Jones - Texas Woman's University
2nd place - Kelly DeRouen - University of Louisiana at Lafayette
3rd place - Dana Padgett - Stephen F. Austin State University

No comments:

Post a Comment